humanoidmetric.com
Independent humanoid-robot metrics · Xodexa
HMX v2.0.0
← All robots listed but not ranked
Information not verified. This robot is listed from cited sources, but its details have not passed the independent evidence check, so it is not scored or ranked. Values a second check confirmed from the cited pages are marked confirmed; every other value is not verified. How robots are verified →

🇺🇸 Tesla Optimus Gen 3

Tesla · USA
limited-production supervised-autonomy electric data confidence: low
Not ranked
Information not verified
HMX ranks eligible catalogue records

Watch changes · Evidence history and cited research export (API access) · Plan a pilot

Notable

Tesla's third Optimus generation (V3). Tesla builds it on the first-generation line at Fremont, which replaced the Model S and X lines; Electrek reported several hundred a week by late September 2026, used internally for training and data collection. Not publicly unveiled as of late September 2026, and Tesla has published no specifications for it.

Deployment evidence

Legacy mentions are unverified. A partnership or announcement is not proof of an active deployment. Evidence labels do not change HMX v2 scoring.

Initial Optimus builds used internally at Tesla's Optimus Academy for training-data collection and functionality development

active · vendor-claimed

Customer: Tesla (internal) · Fremont Factory · USA

Task: training-data collection

  • vendor source

    The initial Optimus builds will be used in our Optimus Academy for training data collection and further functionality development.

  • press source

    most units are used internally for testing, training, and data collection.

Tesla began Gen 3 Optimus body production at its converted Fremont line over the summer of 2026; supply-chain reports indicate parts ordered for ~15,000 units in 2026, ramping to ~2,500/week by year-end

active · press-reported

Customer: Tesla (internal) · Fremont Factory · USA

Task: manufacturing

Dates: 2026-07-01 – ongoing / unknown

  • press source

    Tesla began Gen 3 Optimus body production at its converted Fremont line over the summer of 2026 — but Musk himself warned output would be 'quite slow.'

  • press source

    Supply-chain reports (Sept 7, 2026) indicate Tesla has ordered parts for ~15,000 units in 2026, hitting ~1,000/week by late September and ramping to ~2,500/week by year-end.

Specifications

Evidence is attached to each value. Robot-wide source links do not verify every field. A source about an older value cannot support the current specification.

Height
Undisclosed
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Weight
Undisclosed
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Payload
Undisclosed
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Travel speed
Undisclosed
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Runtime
Undisclosed
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Battery
2.3 kWh not verified
unverified · 1 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

2.3 kWh · supports

independently-reported

Conditions: not reported

Original source

Latest hardware: Gen 3 (V3) with 50-actuator, 22-DoF hands, ~2.3 kWh battery, and an Optimus-first AI5 inference chip (taped out April 2026)

Published: 2026-09-11 · Verified: not reviewed

Total DoF
Undisclosed
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Hand DoF per hand
22 DoF confirmed
unverified · 2 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

22 DoF · supports

independently-reported

Conditions: not reported

Original source

The new Gen 3 hands feature 50 actuators (up from 22), doubling the robot's precision.

Published: unknown · Verified: not reviewed

22 DoF · supports

independently-reported

Conditions: not reported

Original source

upgraded hands with 22 degrees of freedom (doubled from Gen 2's 11)

Published: unknown · Verified: not reviewed

Dexterous hands
Yes confirmed
unverified · 1 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

True · supports

independently-reported

Conditions: not reported

Original source

The new Gen 3 hands feature 50 actuators (up from 22), doubling the robot's precision.

Published: unknown · Verified: not reviewed

Actuation
electric not verified
unverified · 1 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

electric · supports

independently-reported

Conditions: not reported

Original source

redesigned actuators, factory-ready wiring, improved tactile sensing, longer battery life

Published: unknown · Verified: not reviewed

Form factor
bipedal confirmed
unverified · 1 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

bipedal · supports

independently-reported

Conditions: not reported

Original source

the full Gen 3 robot is walking autonomously in Tesla offices

Published: unknown · Verified: not reviewed

Onboard compute
Tesla AI5 inference chip confirmed
unverified · 1 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

Tesla AI5 inference chip · supports

independently-reported

Conditions: not reported

Original source

the Tesla AI5 chip that taped out in April 2026

Published: unknown · Verified: not reviewed

AI model
Grok (xAI) for voice interaction; Tesla end-to-end neural network stack not verified
unverified · 1 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

Grok (xAI) for voice interaction; Tesla end-to-end neural network stack · supports

independently-reported

Conditions: not reported

Original source

voice interaction through Grok, an OLED face display, and the Tesla AI5 chip

Published: unknown · Verified: not reviewed

Autonomy
supervised-autonomy confirmed
unverified · 1 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

supervised-autonomy · supports

independently-reported

Conditions: office environment, not reported

Original source

the full Gen 3 robot is walking autonomously in Tesla offices, though its formal public unveiling has not occurred

Published: unknown · Verified: not reviewed

Product status
limited-production confirmed
unverified · 1 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

limited-production · supports

independently-reported

Conditions: not reported

Original source

Tesla began Gen 3 Optimus body production at its converted Fremont line over the summer of 2026

Published: unknown · Verified: not reviewed

Indicative price
Undisclosed
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Funding
Undisclosed
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Company valuation
Undisclosed
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Task evidence

Task capability is not inferred from hardware specifications or general autonomy labels. Find robots for a task →

No task-specific evidence recorded. Capability remains unknown.

Version history · 7 versions and 4 earlier updates

Full history →

Nothing is deleted: every version of this record is kept, with what changed in each.

  • Version 545 · 28 Oct 2026, 16:56 UTC · score then 65.2
    • ai model: — → Grok (xAI) for voice interaction; Tesla end-to-end neural network stack
    • battery (kWh): — → 2.3
    • deployments: +1 added
    • field evidence: — → 9 fields
    • verified fields: +1 added
    Changed by: Update Optimus Gen 3 (reviewer)
  • Version 519 · 11 Oct 2026, 23:26 UTC · score then 64.5
    • dexterous hands: — → True
    • hand dof per hand: — → 22
    • onboard compute: — → Tesla AI5 inference chip
    • verified fields: +4 added
    Changed by a direct correction or a scoring update, not a research proposal.
  • Version 507 · 3 Oct 2026, 05:36 UTC · score then 45.4
    • ai model: Tesla FSD end-to-end neural net → —
    • battery (kWh): 2.3 → —
    • confidence: medium → low
    • deployments: +1 added, 2 removed
    • dexterous hands: True → —
    • first unveiled year: 2026 → —
    • hand dof per hand: 22 → —
    • height (cm): 173 → —
    • notable: Optimus Gen 3 enters pilot production in 2026 with 22-DoF hands, AI5 chip, and Grok integration. It is being tested in 24/7 autonomous shifts at Tesla factor… → Tesla's third Optimus generation (V3). Tesla builds it on the first-generation line at Fremont, which replaced the Model S and X lines; Electrek reported sev…
    • onboard compute: Tesla HW4.0 → —
    • payload (kg): 20 → —
    • price (USD): 20000 → —
    • runtime (h): 10.0 → —
    • sources: +3 added, 2 removed
    • specs: 8 fields → —
    • speed (m/s): 1.2 → —
    • total dof: 81 → —
    • verified fields: +2 added
    • weight (kg): 57 → —
    Changed by: Update Optimus Gen 3 (confirmed: onboard_compute, hand_dof_per_hand, dexterous_hands, form_factor) (published automatically)
  • Version 501 · 3 Oct 2026, 04:24 UTC · score then 81.6
    • ai model: VLA (Vision-Language-Action) model with Grok voice integration → Tesla FSD end-to-end neural net
    • onboard compute: Tesla AI5 (Hardware 5) custom inference processor → Tesla HW4.0
    • price (USD): — → 20000
    • runtime (h): 9 → 10.0
    • speed (m/s): — → 1.2
    Changed by: Update Optimus Gen 3 (confirmed: ai_model, onboard_compute, speed_ms, runtime_hours, price_usd) (published automatically)
Data confidence: low. Some figures for this robot rest on single or conflicting sources, or on manufacturer/aggregator material rather than independent reporting. Treat second-order specs as approximate. Fields marked “—” were genuinely undisclosed and left blank rather than estimated.