humanoidmetric.com
Independent humanoid-robot metrics · Xodexa
HMX v2.0.0
← Back to the Humanoid leaderboard

🇺🇸 Tesla Optimus Gen 2

Tesla · USA · unveiled 2023
pilot supervised-autonomy electric data confidence: high
69.9
HMX Score
Rank #17 of 156 humanoid

Watch changes · Evidence history · Cited research export · Plan a pilot

Score breakdown

AutonomyManipulationMobilityHardwareCommercialEcosystem
Autonomy & Intelligence · 25%70.0
Manipulation & Dexterity · 20%66.5
Mobility & Locomotion · 15%73.6
Hardware & Engineering · 15%77.3
Commercial Readiness & Deployment · 15%62.0
Ecosystem & Viability · 10%72.0

Each pillar is scored 0–100 from published specs, then weighted into the HMX. Compare it only with other humanoid robots — each category uses its own reference scales. See the full methodology →

Notable

Gen 2 remains deployed internally at Tesla factories with over 1,000 units reported, performing battery sorting and parts handling under human oversight. It has 28 body DoF and 11 DoF per hand, and is not for sale.

Deployment evidence

Legacy mentions are unverified. A partnership or announcement is not proof of an active deployment. Evidence labels do not change HMX v2 scoring.

Tesla Fremont factory (1,000–1,200+ units deployed internally)

active · press-reported

Units: 1200

  • press source

    estimated 1,000 to 1,200 humanoid robot units deployed across Fremont and Giga Texas as of mid-2026

Tesla Giga Texas (internal deployment)

active · press-reported

  • press source

    estimated 1,000 to 1,200 humanoid robot units deployed across Fremont and Giga Texas as of mid-2026

Specifications

Evidence is attached to each value. Robot-wide source links do not verify every field. A source about an older value cannot support the current specification.

Height
173.0 cm
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Weight
57.0 kg
unverified · 1 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

57 kg · supports

vendor-reported

Conditions: not reported

Original source

57 kg, 30% faster, redesigned 11-DoF hands

Published: 2026-08-06 · Verified: not reviewed

Payload
20.0 kg
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Travel speed
1.3 m/s
unverified · 1 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

1.3 m/s · supports

vendor-reported

Conditions: not reported

Original source

Walking at ~1.3 m/s (Gen 2)

Published: 2026-08-06 · Verified: not reviewed

Runtime
8.0 h
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Battery
Undisclosed
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Total DoF
40 DoF
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Hand DoF per hand
11 DoF
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Dexterous hands
Yes
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Actuation
electric
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Form factor
bipedal
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Onboard compute
Tesla FSD HW4
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

AI model
Tesla neural network (imitation learning, vision-only)
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Autonomy
supervised-autonomy
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Product status
pilot
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Indicative price
Undisclosed
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Funding
Undisclosed
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Company valuation
Undisclosed
unverified · 0 evidence records

Declared shared origins are grouped. Distinct domains and unclassified origins do not establish independent evidence.

No field-specific evidence recorded. This value is unverified at field level.

Tesla Optimus Gen 2 in context: rank, rivals and specs

Compare with Figure 01 →

Optimus Gen 2 is a humanoid robot from Tesla in USA, and it is in paid pilot deployments. It scores 69.9 on the Humanoid Metric, ranking 17th of 156 — in the top quarter.

On the leaderboard it sits between Figure 01 (HMX 70.9) and Unitree G1 (HMX 69.8).

Against the 156 humanoid robots ranked, its clearest strength is mobility & locomotion (73.6 against a median of 34.8) and its clearest weakness is commercial readiness & deployment (62.0 against 67.0).

By the published specifications, it runs longer per charge than 85% of the 68 other humanoid robots publishing a runtime (8 h).

On autonomy, it has demonstrated autonomy under human supervision, not unsupervised work. It has 2 deployments with evidence (2 press reported).

Its specifications carry a high-confidence grade from 3 cited sources, as of 2026-08.

Task evidence

Task capability is not inferred from hardware specifications or general autonomy labels. Find robots for a task →

No task-specific evidence recorded. Capability remains unknown.

Frequently asked questions about the Tesla Optimus Gen 2

How much does the Tesla Optimus Gen 2 cost?

Tesla has not published a price for the Tesla Optimus Gen 2, and none is estimated here.

What are the Tesla Optimus Gen 2's specs?

Published specifications: payload 20 kg, speed 1.3 m/s, runtime 8 h, degrees of freedom 40, degrees of freedom per hand 11, height 173 cm, weight 57 kg.

Is the Tesla Optimus Gen 2 autonomous?

The Tesla Optimus Gen 2 has demonstrated autonomy under human supervision, not unsupervised work. The grade reflects demonstrations, not marketing claims.

How does the Tesla Optimus Gen 2 compare to the Figure 01?

On the HMX, the Tesla Optimus Gen 2 scores 69.9 and the Figure 01 70.9. The Tesla Optimus Gen 2 leads on manipulation & dexterity, mobility & locomotion and commercial readiness & deployment; the Figure 01 leads on autonomy & intelligence and ecosystem & viability.

Who makes the Tesla Optimus Gen 2?

The Tesla Optimus Gen 2 is made by Tesla, in USA.

Embed this score

HMX score: 69.9

Change history · 6 applied updates

  • Spec update Update Optimus Gen 2
    deployments: {'id': 'legacy-f275384f3019407ea641', 'claim': 'Tesla Fremont factory (1,000–1,200+ units deployed internally)', 'customer': None, 'site': None, 'country': None, 'task': None, 'started': None, 'ended': None, 'units': None, 'status': 'unknown', 'evidence_tier': 'unverified', 'sources': [], 'verified_at': None}, {'id': 'legacy-9909d1ef3d40688cbc61', 'claim': 'Tesla Giga Texas (internal deployment)', 'customer': None, 'site': None, 'country': None, 'task': None, 'started': None, 'ended': None, 'units': None, 'status': 'unknown', 'evidence_tier': 'unverified', 'sources': [], 'verified_at': None} → {'id': 'legacy-f275384f3019407ea641', 'claim': 'Tesla Fremont factory (1,000–1,200+ units deployed internally)', 'customer': None, 'site': 'Fremont', 'country': 'USA', 'task': None, 'started': None, 'ended': None, 'units': 1200, 'status': 'active', 'evidence_tier': 'press-reported', 'sources': [{'url': 'https://iiot-world.com/smart-manufacturing/tesla-optimus-manufacturing-2026', 'role': 'press', 'excerpt': 'estimated 1,000 to 1,200 humanoid robot units deployed across Fremont and Giga Texas as of mid-2026'}], 'verified_at': None}, {'id': 'legacy-9909d1ef3d40688cbc61', 'claim': 'Tesla Giga Texas (internal deployment)', 'customer': None, 'site': 'Giga Texas', 'country': 'USA', 'task': None, 'started': None, 'ended': None, 'units': None, 'status': 'active', 'evidence_tier': 'press-reported', 'sources': [{'url': 'https://iiot-world.com/smart-manufacturing/tesla-optimus-manufacturing-2026', 'role': 'press', 'excerpt': 'estimated 1,000 to 1,200 humanoid robot units deployed across Fremont and Giga Texas as of mid-2026'}], 'verified_at': None}; field_evidence: → weight_kg, speed_ms
    2026-09-07T20:54:36+00:00 · by admin-token
  • Spec update Update Optimus Gen 2
    ai_model: FSD-derived vision-only neural network → Tesla neural network (imitation learning, vision-only); onboard_compute: FSD chip → Tesla FSD HW4; speed_ms: 2.24 → 1.3; total_dof: 28 → 40
    2026-09-03T22:54:36+00:00 · by agent-auto
  • Spec update Update Optimus Gen 2
    onboard_compute: Tesla FSD computer (AI4) → FSD chip; runtime_hours: → 8; total_dof: 40 → 28; deployments: Tesla Fremont factory (over 1,200 units deployed internally), Tesla Austin factory (internal deployment) → Tesla Fremont factory (1,000–1,200+ units deployed internally), Tesla Giga Texas (internal deployment)
    2026-09-01T22:25:15+00:00 · by agent-auto
  • Spec update Update Optimus Gen 2
    ai_model: Tesla FSD-derived vision-only neural net → FSD-derived vision-only neural network; onboard_compute: FSD vision → Tesla FSD computer (AI4); total_dof: 28 → 40
    2026-08-28T04:55:14+00:00 · by agent-auto
  • Spec update Update Optimus Gen 2
    onboard_compute: Tesla FSD chip → FSD vision; speed_ms: → 2.24; deployments: Tesla Fremont factory (over 1,000 units deployed internally), Tesla Austin factory (internal deployment) → Tesla Fremont factory (over 1,200 units deployed internally), Tesla Austin factory (internal deployment)
    2026-08-27T04:45:43+00:00 · by agent-auto
  • New model New model: Optimus Gen 2 (Tesla) 2026-08-26T04:34:55+00:00 · by agent-auto